Each spring semester at Iowa State University, students can apply for scholarship opportunities. These awards are targeted for students with an entrepreneurial spirit, along with other criteria specific to each award.  Applications must be submitted through the ISU Pappajohn Center (upon availability).

John & Mary Pappajohn Scholarship Program – $2,500 each (4 awarded)

The John & Mary Pappajohn Scholarship Fund was created through a generous gift from John and Mary Pappajohn. At $2,500 each, these honors are targeted to students of junior, senior, or graduate status who have started or who intend to establish their own business or are participating in the entrepreneurship programs on campus. Criteria used for scholarship recipients include a demonstrated interest in entrepreneurship (practical or classroom), clear business idea, and when possible, scholarships are awarded to disadvantaged or minority students per the Pappajohn’s request.

David Slater Entrepreneur Scholarship – $1,000 each (1 award)

Kandice Slater has established the Dave Slater Business Scholarship for a student in the College of Business who is well rounded and not necessarily an academic star and will aspire to be a success in a small business.


  • College of Business; Participant in Pappajohn Center for Entrepreneurship programs
  • Preference to students interested in small business
  • Full time with minimum cum GPA of 2.5 on 4.0 scale
  • Demonstrated leadership as evidenced by participation in extracurricular or community organizations and activities as determined by PCE.  Examples include involvement in recognized student organizations, professional organizations, or community service.
  • Sophomore, junior or senior classification (preference for sophomores) – possibility of renewal as endowment grows.

Bruce Lambert Entrepreneur Scholarship – $1,000 each (1 award)


  • Enrolled in College of Business
  • Iowa resident
  • Involved with Pappajohn Center for Entrepreneurship
  • All classifications eligible


2019 Entrepreneurial Scholarship Recipients

Pictured (L to R): PAPPAJOHN SCHOLARS ($2,500): Konner Koerselman (Industrial Engineering), Courtney Middelkoop (Industrial Engineering), Anthony Swindell (Entrepreneurship), Cimone Wright-Hamor (Computer Engineering); DAVE SLATER SCHOLAR ($1,000): Luis Rios (Marketing).

2018 Entrepreneurial Scholarship Recipients

(pictured L to R):  Wadood Daoud, Katie Carpenter, Ashley Jones, Brady Trent
*Not pictured: Joe Standon

2017 Entrepreneurial Scholarship Recipients

(pictured L to R):  Steven Brockshus, Nolan Herlocker, Anthony House, Mikayla Sullivan

2016 Entrepreneurial Scholarship Recipients

(pictured L to R):  Riley Huhn, Andrew Pauley, Kenyon Brown